Thursday, December 4, 2008

The Twilight Saga


In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The Silver Kiss (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed. This is a book of the senses: Edward is first attracted by Bella's scent; ironically, Bella is repelled when she sees blood. Their love is palpable, heightened by their touches, and teens will respond viscerally. There are some flaws here--a plot that could have been tightened, an overreliance on adjectives and adverbs to bolster dialogue--but this dark romance seeps into the soul. Ilene Cooper
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Title: The Twilight Saga
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Call number:
PZ7.M5717515 Tw 2005
PZ7.M5717515 New 2006
PZ7.M5717515 Ec 2007
PZ7.M5717515 Br 2008

See all new books:

New Books in November

Find new books on COM Library's New Books rack or new book display near the Circulation Services desk in the library. If the book you want is not there, it may have been moved to the regular stacks or be checked out. Books that are currently checked out may be placed on hold at the Circulation Desk.

No comments: